Project 02

Getting The Job – PDF By Tyler Cummings, Victor Hawley, Tom Luppi, Norman Morales

One of the most important parts of the guide is when should students start preparing for an interview. I did not start preparing until after I had already gotten an interview which most people would think its fine but in reality it takes a lot of time to properly prepare for one. So if someone already has a lot of work from just classes it will be extremely hard to now find time to put more work towards preparing for an interview which is why they should start preparing early on. Obviously it’s hard to prepare when you are not sure what to look at but at least some general review over things from previous or even current classes can help.

I wished that I would have also been told that class projects are great things to have in a resume. There was a long time were I thought I did not have enough to have a good resume or that my experiences were nothing special but every little bit counts and it’s all up to how it is presented and how you talk about it. Another thing that I wished I knew earlier is how I was going to have pretty bad interviews at first before I could find how I could present myself the best and I could get more confidence from each and every interview.

As students spend more and more time preparing for an interview, so should colleges help with that preparation as much as they can. The students are already spending a lot of time and money in their education but that is not really worth it if they cannot get a job after graduation. Personally this is why I left a lot of requirements for later in my college life because I knew I needed the knowledge and experience from more computer science courses to help me get an internship and a job. AT the same time a class focused on the industry and the job hunting side of it would have help a lot preparing me for the process and would help many more students in the future if such a course existed. More than having such a program to help students the ND CSE program should change to try and keep students engage and interested. I personally feel that I have coasted for most of it while the most engaging thing I did was go to a hackathon at another school. Even still the most important change that the ND CSE program should do to help its students is move its ethics course to a semester before the students have already found jobs. Being able to hear and discuss stuff about the interview process, salary and contracts would help the students make better informed decisions about their future instead of signing everything we are given without truly understanding the consequences of it.

Leave a comment